12.3 C
Monday, April 15, 2024
HomeSportsCricketICC mulls four-year league to boost interest in Tests

ICC mulls four-year league to boost interest in Tests


Related stories

Rohit’s century goes in vain as Chennai beat Mumbai by 20 runs

Rohit Sharma’s brilliant century could not steer Mumbai Indians...

Hetmyer powers Rajasthan to top of points table

Shimron Hetmyer’s explosive 27 runs off 10 balls helped...

IPL debutant Fraser-McGurk powers Delhi to 6-wicket win over Lucknow

Jake Fraser-McGurk marked his Indian Premier League (IPL) debut...

Kidambi Srikanth can be top again, says coach Kashyap

COACH Parupalli Kashyap feels Kidambi Srikanth’s best is yet...

Bumrah’s five-for takes Mumbai to 5-wicket win over Bengaluru

Jasprit Bumrah’s five-wicket haul, along with fifties from Ishan...

THE INTERNATIONAL Cricket Council will mull the introduction of a new four-year league and a playoff series to decide the world’s Test champion as part of a raft of measures to boost interest in the sport.

The league would determine the top four teams to contest a playoff, and the first playoff tournament had been requested for 2013, the ICC said in a statement yesterday.

Test cricket, which has struggled to maintain its profile since the advent of Twenty20 cricket, currently has a rankings system but no tournament to determine the top Test nation.

An ICC working group had also proposed a similar four-year league for one-day matches, the first from April 2011 to April 2014. It would run separate to the World Cup, the ICC said.

The proposals signalled the ICC’s intention to keep all three formats amid calls for one-day internationals to be reduced or scrapped altogether.

“Restructuring international cricket is a significant strategic challenge and one that must be dealt with,” ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said.

“Protecting and promoting all three formats at international level is viable and I believe the (working group) has shown itself to be forward thinking in tackling the challenges.”

Other proposals included reducing the number of teams competing at the World Cup to 10. The 2011 edition to be held in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will see 14 teams compete.

The ICC will also examine expanding the World Twenty20 to a 16-team competition and introducing a rankings system.


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

18 − 4 =