Rohit Sharma equalled the record for fastest Twenty20 century on Friday as India reached 260 for five in the second T20 against Sri Lanka in Indore.
The Indian skipper reached 100 off 35 deliveries, matching South African David Miller’s century against Bangladesh in October. Sharma scored 118 off 43 balls, smashing 12 fours and 10 sixes after India were put into bat.
His explosive 165-run opening stand with Lokesh Rahul — who made 89 — put India in a commanding position in the second game of the three-match series, which the hosts lead 1-0.
Final scoreboard of the second Twenty20 international between India and Sri Lanka in Indore on Friday:
R. Sharma c Dananjaya b Chameera     118
L. Rahul c Dickwella b Pradeep               89
M.S. Dhoni b Perera                              28
H. Pandya c Samarawickrama b Pradeep  10
S. Iyer lbw b Perera                  0
M. Pandey not out                    1
D. Karthik not out                     5
Extras (lb3, w6)                       9
Total (5 wickets, 20 overs)      260
Fall of wickets: 1-165 (Sharma), 2-243 (Rahul), 3-253 (Pandya), 4-254 (Iyer), 5-255 (Dhoni)
Did not bat: J. Unadkat, K. Yadav, J. Bumrah, Y. Chahal
Bowling: Mathews 2.2-0-16-0, Chameera 4-0-45-1, Pradeep 4-0-61-2 (w2), Dananjaya 3.4-0-49-0 (w2), Perera 4-0-49-2 (w2), De Silva 1-0-16-0, Gunaratne 1-0-21-0
Sri Lanka (target 261)
N. Dickwella c Pandya b Unadkat   25
U. Tharanga c & b Chahal              47
K. Perera c Pandey b Yadav           77
T. Perera c Pandya b Yadav            0
A. Gunaratne st Dhoni b Yadav       0
S. Samarawickrama st Dhoni b Chahal    5
C. de Silva b Chahal                   1
A. Dananjaya c Pandey b Chahal 5
D. Chameera b Pandya               3
N. Pradeep not out                     0
A. Mathews absent hurt              –
Extras (lb2, w7)                        9
Total (all out, 17.2 overs)        172
Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Dickwella), 2-145 (Tharanga), 3-155 (T. Perera), 4-156 (K. Perera), 5-161 (Gunaratne), 6-162 (De Silva), 7-164 (Samarawickrama), 8-170 (Dananjaya), 9-172 (Chameera)
Bowling: Unadkat 3-0-22-1, Bumrah 3-0-21-0 (w2), Yadav 4-0-52-3 (w1), Pandya 3.2-0-23-1, Chahal 4-0-52-4 (w4)
Toss: Sri Lanka
Result: India won by 88 runs
Series: India lead the three-match series 2-0
Umpires: Anil Chaudhary (IND) and CK Nandan (IND)
TV Umpire: Nitin Menon (IND)
Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)