New Zealand Cricket (NZC) head Greg Barclay has been elected as the ICC’s new Independent Chairman.

Barclay comfortably overcame the challenge from Singapore’s Imran Khwaja to succeed India’s Shashank Manohar during ICC meeting on Tuesday.

The electronic voting process involved 16 board of directors — 12 from full member (Test playing nations), three associate countries and one independent female director (Indra Nooyi of PepsiCo).

“It is an honour to be elected as the Chair of the ICC and I would like to thank my fellow ICC Directors for their support. I hope we can come together to lead the sport and emerge from the global pandemic in a strong position and poised for growth,” Barclay said.

“I look forward to working in partnership with our Members to strengthen the game in our core markets as well as grow it beyond that ensuring more of the world can enjoy cricket.

Barclay won 11-5, receiving the winning vote from the Cricket South Africa in the second round of voting.

He had received 10 votes to Khwaja’s six in the first round last week, but as per the rules the winner needs 11 – a two-thirds majority of the 16-person ICC Board as the 17th member is CEO Manu Sawhney who is without voting rights.

It is understood that India, England, Australia along with New Zealand voted for Barclay, who has been a director of NZC since 2012.

He currently serves as NZC’s representative on the board of the ICC but will step down from the position to lead the world body in an independent capacity.