-0.7 C
Friday, December 1, 2023
HomeSportsCricketCricket-England drop Roy, welcome back Woakes and Wood for T20 World Cup

Cricket-England drop Roy, welcome back Woakes and Wood for T20 World Cup


Related stories

Rahul Dravid to stay on as India coach

RAHUL DRAVID will stay on as coach of India,...

Maxwell’s hundred carries Australia to five-wicket win over India

Glenn Maxwell’s fiery unbeaten hundred carried Australia to a...

Sri Lanka sports minister sacked over cricket crisis

SRI LANKA’S sports minister was sacked on Monday (27),...

Cummins says players ‘not robots’ as Australia T20 team struggles

CAPTAIN Pat Cummins said Tuesday (28) that cricketers were...

IPL: Gill to lead Gujarat after Pandya returns to Mumbai

GUJARAT Titans said on Monday (27) that opener Shubman...


England dropped out-of-form opener Jason Roy and welcomed back fit-again seamers Chris Woakes and Mark Wood in their squad for the Twenty20 World Cup in Australia beginning next month.

Roy has been an integral part of England’s white-ball squad and his explosive batting at the top of the order embodied the team’s aggressive approach as they won their maiden 50-overs World Cup title in 2019.

The 32-year-old has struggled for runs this summer and hit 76 runs in total in his last six Twenty20 Internationals which made his position untenable for the World Cup and the preceding seven-match Twenty20 series in Pakistan.

Woakes and Wood, both of whom last played for England during the test tour of the West Indies in March, have recovered from their respective injuries to be in both squads.

The World Cup squad includes Chris Jordan (finger) and Liam Livingstone (ankle) who will skip the Pakistan tour to continue their rehabilitation, the England and Wales Cricket Board said in a statement.

Captain Jos Buttler, who is recovering from a calf injury, will tour Pakistan but will be available to play only in the later stages of the series.

“In Buttler’s absence, Moeen Ali will captain the side,” the ECB said.

Jordan Cox, Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Olly Stone and Luke Wood are the five uncapped players named in the England squad for the Pakistan series which begins on Sept. 20 in Karachi.

Former champions England begin their Twenty20 World Cup campaign against Afghanistan on Oct. 22 in Perth.

T20 World Cup squad: Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Reserves: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tymal Mills



- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories