The Andhra Pradesh government on Wednesday night transferred 23 IPS officers and gave postings to two others in the continued shake-up of the administrative set-up since Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy took over as chief minister last week.

Chief Secretary L.V. Subrahmanyam issued the orders after Jagan discussed the exercise with Director General of Police (in-charge) Gautam Sawang on Wednesday.

DIG-rank IPS officers D. Nagendra Kumar, P. Venkatarami Reddy, A.S. Khan, C.M. Trivikrama Varma and G. Srinivas were shifted from their respective positions and given new postings, an official notification said.

Superintendents of police of eight districts were also transferred while some other SPs have been posted to different police wings.

Rahul Dev Sharma, whom the Election Commission had removed as Kadapa district SP on the eve of the elections, has now been posted as group commander of the elite anti-Naxalite force Greyhounds.

Koya Praveen, who also faced Election Commission action, has been posted as SP, Government Railway Police, at Guntakal.

Vishal Gunni has been posted as SP, Octopus, the elite organisation for counter-terror operations.

Chittoor district SP Vikrant Patil has been posted as DCP (Law and Order-1) in Visakhapatnam city.

Guntur district SP S.V. Rajasekhar Babu, who had come in for flak from the ruling YSRCP, has been asked to report to the DGP’s office.

On his first day in office, Jagan had transferred the state DGP and chief of the anti-corruption bureau.


17 − 1 =